L'inaction face au changement climatique

Mots clés: Changement climatique, risques physiques, saisonnalité, cartographie des risques

Par Miia Chabot, Directrice Recherche & Développement
07/03/2022

Depuis la désormais bien connue tragédie des horizons évoquée par Marc Carney[i] il y a quelques années, une grande partie de l'attention s'est concentrée sur le risque de transition les risques posés par la décarbonisation rapide de l'économie mondiale. Pourtant, à l'heure actuelle, les accords politiques de réduction n'ont pas été suivis d'actions à la hauteur des enjeux, et le monde poursuit la voie d'un changement climatique substantiel.

S'agit-il d'un manque de motivation[ii]? La complexité des phénomènes climatiques, tout comme la combinaison de facteurs à prendre en compte pour comprendre les enjeux qui s'adressent à nous empêchent-elles d'avancer ? Le manque d'implication du secteur éducatif doit-il être pointé du doigt[iii]?

L’inaction et le manque d’engagement de réduction de gaz à effet de serre favorisent le développement des "risques physiques" du changement climatique. Ces risques[iv]font référence à l'impact financier dus aux changements graduels du climat et aux événements météorologiques anormaux ou extrêmes plus fréquents. Le risque physique se traduit notamment par des températures plus élevées, des inondations, des sécheresses, une disponibilité limitée de l'eau, ou encore par une élévation du niveau de la mer.

Ces risques physiques sont présents au quotidien[v], ils impactent nos économies et remettent en question les modèles de gestion traditionnels des risques. D’années en années, on enregistre de nouveaux records[vi].D’années en années, on s'interroge sur les solutions à apporter.

L'élaboration de métriques de risques physiques exploitables à l'échelle d'une entreprise, d'un secteur, ou d'une économie nécessite cependant de réussir un vrai tour de force. Car il s'agit de mettre en cohérence le travail des météorologues, des climatologues, des économistes et des gestionnaires de risques. Et, dans ce cas précis, le problème n'est pas seulement qu'une question d'égo ou de motivation.

Les économistes s'intéressent aux phénomènes non-linéaires, et leurs investigations les ont mené très loin dans la mise en œuvre de tests et de modèles de régression sophistiqués. Les météorologues et les climatologues disposent quant à eux d'une expertise scientifique à l'échelle mondiale des phénomènes climatiques. La granularité des données dont ils disposent est gigantesque et appelle désormais à l'utilisation d'outils de réduction de données mobilisant l'intelligence artificielle. Les gestionnaires de risques ont développé des outils de cartographies de risques flexibles et innovants, auxquels s'ajoutent des stratégies de couverture de risques toujours plus tournées vers l'avenir net-zéro.

Comment les faire communiquer?

Crédit Photo : Marcus Spiske

Nous n'avons jamais eu autant besoin de profils 'hybrides',allergiques au fonctionnement en silo, passionnés de transversalité. C'est bien dans notre capacité à mettre en cohérence nos expertises que se trouvent les clefs de la réussite[vii].

Pour réaliser une cartographie de sensibilité aux risques physiques, le gestionnaire de risque va chercher à bien délimiter la nature de l'activité qu'il étudie, et les types de risques physiques qui la rendent vulnérable[viii].

Si on s'intéresse à la demande d'électricité des ménages français, on peut retenir par exemple comme principaux risques les anomalies de températures, et l'occurrence d'évènements extrêmes tels que les inondations, les vagues de chaleurs et de froid ainsi que les tempêtes.

L'économiste s'interrogera de façon approfondie sur la saisonnalité de la demande d'électricité: peut-on réellement observer cette saisonnalité[ix] dans les données, et si oui, est ce que cette saisonnalité est non-linéaire[x]?

En fonction des réponses qu'il obtiendra à ces questions, il saura quel type de modèles il pourra utiliser pour mesurer l'impact du risque physique sur l'activité.

Les météorologues et les climatologues apporteront quant à eux la donnée climatique[xi], which they will have aligned with the economic data. They will have worked out the measurements of climatic anomalies and extreme events on the basis of the WMO’s classic recommendations.

Corrélations de la demande d'électricité française aux anomalies de températures, à la survenance d'inondations, de vagues de chaleur et de froid extrêmes et de tempêtes sur la période récente.

Fig1.Cartographie de sensibilité de la demande d'électricité française

La collaboration scientifique de tout ces experts permet de montrer l'impact des risques physiques (Fig1.) sur la demande d'électricité qui est, comme les conclusions des chercheurs sur le changement climatique, sans équivoque.

Pour toutes les entreprises qui distribuent ou produisent de l’électricité, l’étape suivante consiste à impliquer les financiers pour mettre en place, à partir de ces travaux scientifiques, des financements mieux adaptés, ou des solutions de couverture et de lissage, pour améliorer la résilience de ces entreprises au risque physique, autrement dit pour apporter des solutions concrètes d’adaptation au changement climatique…en attendant que les engagements de réduction de gaz à effet de serre fassent effet sur le climat, soit pas avant 20 ou 30 ans, quels que soient les scénarios envisagés par le GIEC.[xii].

Pour en savoir plus sur nos activités :

Par Dr. Miia CHABOT, Dr. Jean-Louis Bertrand, Valentin Courquin – Février 2021

[i] Carney, Mark (2015), Breaking the tragedy of the horizon, Bank of England, https://www.bankofengland.co.uk/speech/2015/breaking-the-tragedy-of-the-horizon-climate-change-and-financial-stability

[ii] Markman Art (2018), Why People Aren’t Motivated to Address Climate Changes, Harvard Business Review, https://hbr.org/2018/10/why-people-arent-motivated-to-address-climate-change

[iii] Galdon et al. (2022), Business Schools must do more to address the climate crisis, Harvard Business Review, https://hbr.org/2022/02/business-schools-must-do-more-to-address-the-climate-crisis

[iv] Physical risk framework, University of Cambridge & ClimateWise, https://www.tcfdhub.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/CISL-Climate-Wise-Physical-Risk-Framework-Report.pdf

[v] Bertrand and Parnaudeau (2017), Severe weather threatens businesses. It’s time to measure and disclose the risks. https://store.hbr.org/product/severe-weather-threatens-businesses-it-s-time-to-measure-and-disclose-the-risks/H03W8W

[vi]https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/12/climate/nyt-climate-newsletter-temperature-records.html

[vii] Join us

[viii]Hopkin, Paul (2018), Fundamentals of Risk Management

[ix] Hylleberg et al. (1990), Seasonal integration and cointegration, Journal of Econometrics, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/030440769090080D

[x] Dias-Emparanza (2014), Numerical distribution functions for seasonal unit-root tests, Numerical distribution functions for seasonal unit root tests, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0167947313001047

[xi] https://www.noaa.gov/, https://www.catnat.net/

[xii] IPCC science report: climate change unequivocal, human influence at least 95% certain, European Commission, https://ec.europa.eu/clima/news-your-voice/news/ipcc-science-report-climate-change-unequivocal-human-influence-least-95-certain-2013-09-27_en#:~:text=that%20human…-,The%20United%20Nations%20Intergovernmental%20Panel%20on%20Climate%20Change%20(IPCC)%20presented,activities%20are%20the%20principal%20cause.

Access to our White papers in PDF !


A propos des auteurs

Fondée en 2019 par une équipe expérimentée de la gestion des risques d'entreprise et de climatologues, Weatherisus opère depuis Angers et Londres, et propose des produits d’analyses et des conseils basés sur les données historiques, et des outils de protection financière pour gérer les conséquences du changement climatique.

Nous travaillons avec nos clients pour identifier les risques climatiques auxquels ils sont confrontés

Depuis la chaîne d'approvisionnement jusqu'aux ventes et aux consommateurs finaux, nous analysons ces risques à partir des données commerciales disponibles et de nos propres bases de données, nous définissons les caractéristiques spécifiques de chaque risque climatique et évaluons les conséquences financières à court et moyen terme pour offrir une compréhension globale de la contribution du climat à la rentabilité et permettre la mise en place de stratégies d’adaptation.

Voulez-vous plus d'informations ou nous rejoindre ?

Act on Climate Change Inaction

Key words: Climate change, physical risks, seasonality, risk mapping

By Miia Chabot, Research & Development Director
07/03/2022

Since Marc Carney’s now well-known tragedy of the horizons[i] a few years ago, much of the attention has been focused on transition risk – the risks posed by the rapid decarbonisation of the global economy. Yet at present, political agreements have not been followed by action, and the world is continuing on a path of substantial climate change.

Is it a lack of motivation[ii]? Is the complexity of climate phenomena, as well as the combination of factors needed to understand the issues at stake that prevents progress? Should the lack of involvement of the education sector be pointed out[iii]?

Inaction and lack of commitment to greenhouse gas reductions are driving the development of the “physical risks” of climate change. These risks[iv]refer to the financial impact of gradual changes in climate and more frequent abnormal or extreme weather events. Physical risk includes higher temperatures, floods, droughts, limited water availability, or sea level rise.

These physical risks are present in our daily lives[v], they impact our economies and challenge traditional risk management models. Year after year, new records are being set[vi]. Year after year, we wonder about the solutions to be found.

The development of physical risk measures for use at the level of a company, sector or economy requires a major effort. It involves bringing together meteorologists, climate scientists, economists and risk managers. In this case, the challenge is not just one of ego or motivation.

Economists investigate the existence of non-linear phenomena within seasonal processes, and their investigations have taken them far in the implementation of sophisticated tests and regression models. Meteorologists and climatologists have scientific expertise on the global scale of climate change. The granularity of the data available to them is huge and now requires artificial intelligence-based data reduction tools. Risk managers have developed flexible and innovative risk mapping tools, complemented by net-zero risk hedging strategies.

Photo Credit : Matt Palmer

How can they work together?

Photo Credit : Marcus Spiske

Never before have we needed so many hybrid profiles, who cannot stand in silos and are passionate about cross-disciplinary work. The keys to success lie in combining expertise[vii].

In order to carry out a mapping of physical risks, the risk manager will seek to clearly define the scope of the business and the physical risks that make it vulnerable[viii].

If we look at the electricity demand of French households in recent years, the most prominent risks have been temperature anomalies, the occurrence of extreme events such as floods, heat waves, cold waves and storms.

The economist will explore the seasonality[ix] of this demand, and its implications[x]?

Based on the findings, the most suitable model to assess the impact of physical risk on electricity demand will be identified.

Meteorologists and climatologists will provide the climate data[xi], which they will have aligned with the economic data. They will have worked out the measurements of climatic anomalies and extreme events on the basis of the WMO’s classic recommendations.

Correlations of French Electricity Demand with Temperature Anomalies, the Occurrence of Floods, Extreme Events and Storms over the recent period, before the beginning of the Ukrainian conflict.

Fig1. Physical risks Mapping for French Electricity Demand

The scientific collaboration of these specialists allows us to see the importance of physical risks in our everyday lives (Fig. 1.).

For all the companies that distribute or produce electricity, the next step is to involve financiers in order to put in place, on the basis of this scientific work, better adapted financing, or hedging and smoothing solutions, to improve the resilience of these companies to physical risk, to provide concrete solutions for adapting to climate change... while waiting for the commitments to reduce greenhouse gases to have any impact on the climate, which unfortunately will not be the case for another 20 or 30 years, regardless of the scenarios envisaged by the IPCC[xii].

Read more about our work:

By Dr. Miia CHABOT, Dr. Jean-Louis Bertrand, Valentin Courquin – February 2021

[i] Carney, Mark (2015), Breaking the tragedy of the horizon, Bank of England, https://www.bankofengland.co.uk/speech/2015/breaking-the-tragedy-of-the-horizon-climate-change-and-financial-stability

[ii] Markman Art (2018), Why People Aren’t Motivated to Address Climate Changes, Harvard Business Review, https://hbr.org/2018/10/why-people-arent-motivated-to-address-climate-change

[iii] Galdon et al. (2022), Business Schools must do more to address the climate crisis, Harvard Business Review, https://hbr.org/2022/02/business-schools-must-do-more-to-address-the-climate-crisis

[iv] Physical risk framework, University of Cambridge & ClimateWise, https://www.tcfdhub.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/CISL-Climate-Wise-Physical-Risk-Framework-Report.pdf

[v] Bertrand and Parnaudeau (2017), Severe weather threatens businesses. It’s time to measure and disclose the risks. https://store.hbr.org/product/severe-weather-threatens-businesses-it-s-time-to-measure-and-disclose-the-risks/H03W8W

[vi]https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/12/climate/nyt-climate-newsletter-temperature-records.html

[vii] Join us

[viii]Hopkin, Paul (2018), Fundamentals of Risk Management

[ix] Hylleberg et al. (1990), Seasonal integration and cointegration, Journal of Econometrics, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/030440769090080D

[x] Dias-Emparanza (2014), Numerical distribution functions for seasonal unit-root tests, Numerical distribution functions for seasonal unit root tests, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0167947313001047

[xi] https://www.noaa.gov/, https://www.catnat.net/

[xii] IPCC science report: climate change unequivocal, human influence at least 95% certain, European Commission, https://ec.europa.eu/clima/news-your-voice/news/ipcc-science-report-climate-change-unequivocal-human-influence-least-95-certain-2013-09-27_en#:~:text=that%20human…-,The%20United%20Nations%20Intergovernmental%20Panel%20on%20Climate%20Change%20(IPCC)%20presented,activities%20are%20the%20principal%20cause.

About the authors

Founded in 2019 by a team of corporate risk management experts and climate scientists, Weatherisus operates from Angers and London, offering data-driven analysis and advice, and financial protection against climate risks.

We engage with companies to identify the climate risks they face

From supply chain to sales to end customers, we analyze these risks based on companies’ business data and our own databases, define the specific characteristics of each climate risk, and assess the short- and medium-term financial consequences to facilitate decisions.

Do you want more informations or work with us ?